the uprooting

faith

I’m a big Elizabeth Elliot fan. At some point in college I read her book “Passion and Purity” and fell in love.  She is one of those people that is so full of the Lord that His wisdom just spews out of her. This particular quote is one of my favorites because it is almost as if I can hear the Lord saying to me, “Daughter, do not dig up in doubt what you wisely planted in faith. Trust me. I will provide.”

Lately I’ve been getting discouraged (SHOCKER!). I’ve been praying for quite awhile now that the Lord would bring me to where I’m supposed to be so that I can teach the students that He has set aside for me.

Fortunately, I had about 5 interviews within 2-3 weeks from each other and my hopes for a teaching position next year sky rocketed. Now here I am a month later with no word back from anyone even after follow-up emails. Doubt is plaguing me. I know that the Lord has a perfect place for me, but my mind just keeps telling me that I should already have this figured out.

I told myself that if I didn’t hear back from any of the elementary schools before our Spring Break next week that I would reach out to middle schools in the county. My heart is with the little ones. I don’t really WANT to teach middle school.

But does He want me to? Lord, is that what you’re asking? I could. If He asks me I would, but I  took this parapro position for a year thinking I’d have my dream job by the end of it. I’m eager to teach. I’m even more passionate now because of having to “sit in” on other teachers classes day in and day out. I’m ready to impact young people.

It’s so frustrating not having anyone believe you’re capable.

Are you feeling down? In a similar situation? I’ve drawn strength from these verses. I pray they will strengthen you as well.

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” John 16:33

“I keep my eyes always on the LORD. With him at my right hand, I will not be shaken.” Psalm 16:8

Romans 12:2 tells me that God’s plan is good, pleasing, and perfect. To that I will hold on to with steadfast strength knowing that He has me, and you, in His hands.

 

 

Leave a Reply

